Proxy vs. VPN, How to Choose?

Both Proxy and VPN can protect user identities, and are excellent tools for accessing geographically restricted content. Users often interchange Use them. However, VPN protects user privacy, while Proxy does not, and does not support Internet security.

What is a proxy server

Proxy acts as an intermediary between the user client and the website. When users browse the website through a proxy server, the real IP address of the client can be hidden, and all traffic will be routed through the proxy server. The website only records the IP address of the proxy server and does not record the IP address of the client to protect the privacy of the client. However, the proxy does not encrypt traffic.

Proxy has a cache function. The content of the webpage browsed by the user will be stored in the cache area of the proxy server. When other users access the same webpage content, the data can be retrieved directly from the cache area without connecting to the website to download, which can effectively save the Internet Bandwidth improves the browsing speed of web pages. Therefore, Proxy is usually used as a cache node. Proxy can also filter web content to restrict users from browsing specific websites.

There are three main types of proxy servers:

  • HTTP proxy: Mainly used to access web pages, filter web content and cache web pages. If an HTTP proxy server is set on the browser, all traffic on the browser will be routed through this proxy server.
  • SOCKS proxy: This type of proxy simply transmits packets. In addition to accessing web pages, it can also be used for applications such as online games, video streaming, instant messaging, and P2P. SOCKS can be divided into SOCKS4 and SOCKS5. SOCKS4 only supports TCP protocol, while SOCKS5 supports TCP and UDP protocol. SOCKS5 supports identity verification and has better security. They can handle all kinds of traffic, but they are slower than HTTP proxies. But they usually have a higher load, so they are usually more popular.
  • Transparent proxy (transparent proxy): This type of network proxy is usually used to monitor users’ network activities and prevent users from accessing specific websites, which users usually don’t know about. The existence of a network-like agent. Transparent agents are often used in corporate network management or family network control (such as monitoring children's online behavior), restaurants or hotels for identity authentication on public wireless networks. Companies or homes can also set up this kind of network proxy to save bandwidth.
VPN encrypts traffic and protects privacy; but Proxy does not have this function
VPN encrypts traffic and protects privacy; but Proxy does not have this function

What is VPN

VPN is to establish a channel between two endpoints on the Internet to access network resources in the other endpoint, just like a large local area network, which can be regarded as a virtual enterprise internal Dedicated line.

If the company has offices in various places, VPNs can be used to connect the intranets of the offices. Like Proxy, VPN also routes through remote servers, which can hide the real IP or location.

See what your current IP address is

However, VPN will encrypt the traffic between the Internet and the device.

This means that Internet Service Providers (ISPs) can no longer monitor the Internet activities of VPN users and collect relevant data. In other words, external monitoring cannot know what users cannot do through the network. Encryption can also protect against government surveillance, website tracking, and hackers. VPNs can provide the ultimate online privacy and security.

In addition, both VPN and proxy service providers can record user data, such as user IP addresses, DNS requests, and other detailed information. Therefore, do not use such service providers. If their servers are compromised, user information will be leaked to advertisers, hackers or relevant government departments. If you want to be truly private when surfing the Internet, please use A VPN provider with a strict no-logs policy.

The following are VPNs with no log policy:

  • NordVPN- The premier VPN service with a strict no-logs policy The server is located in more than 50 locations around the world.
  • ExpressVPN – fast and reliable VPN service, Use RAM-based servers and do not save user data.
  • Cyber​​Ghost – User-friendly service with Safe, own NoSpy server and guaranteed no-log policy.
  • Private Internet Access – comes with a free ad blocker , To ensure data security on public WiFi networks.
  • IPVanish – advanced security features to help you bypass Internet blocking in censored countries.
  • PrivateVPN — Simple and easy-to-use VPN App, economical.

The main difference between VPN and Proxy

This is a quick comparison of the advantages and disadvantages between the two:

  • VPN can encrypted traffic/information transmission a>, so it is more secure, while the proxy server will not. VPN service can protect from ISP tracking, government surveillance, and hackers; but Proxy proxy service does not have this function, so do not use Proxy to access and process sensitive information.
  • VPN works at the operating system level and reroutes all traffic; while the proxy server works at the application level and only reroutes traffic for specific applications or browsers;
  • VPNs may be slower than proxy proxies because they require encrypted data. However, there are many ways to improve the connection and browsing speed; Proxy only processes HTTP requests and provides the function of caching web pages, but does not encrypt data, so it can improve web browsing speed. (That is, VPN protects user privacy, while Proxy does not)
  • VPN is usually paid (try not to use free VPN services, there are various restrictions and mining user data), there are servers in different countries to choose from; and most proxy servers are free (However, as with VPNs, try not to use free services, because these services usually limit traffic and slow connection speeds.)
  • VPN connections are more reliable, and proxy servers are frequently dropped.
  • VPN is usually used to solve the external network

Frequently Asked Questions about VPN and Proxy

Is VPN better than proxy?

Yes, a VPN is better because it routes and encrypts traffic through a secure server to provide privacy and security. The proxy only passes traffic through the intermediary server, but does not necessarily provide any additional protection. In addition, unlike a proxy, VPN works at the operating system level to protect all traffic.

If there is a VPN, do I still need a proxy server?

unnecessary. The advanced VPN service performs the same operation as the proxy server, and the proxy can be used to quickly change the IP. In addition, not all Proxy proxy servers are secure, and some of them may collect user data.

Can I use VPN and proxy server at the same time?

VPN and proxy can be used together, but some configuration is required. It is not recommended, and it is completely unnecessary. Because Proxy will only add an additional middleman, which will slow down the connection speed without obvious benefits. In terms of Internet connection, just use one of them.

Should I use a free proxy server (Proxy) or a free VPN?

Free proxy and VPN services may be at the expense of user safety and privacy. There is no free lunch in the world. Developers must make money in some way. If they use free services, they can spy on data in the background, bombard them with adware, or limit the amount of data that can be used.

Advanced VPN has invested heavily in infrastructure and provided first-class encryption, a rich server base, 24/7 customer support, and continuously improved services. It is recommended to avoid using free proxy and free VPN, because in the long run, the little money saved may cost more in the future.

Conclusion

VPN and Proxy are similar in that they reroute traffic through a remote server and hide the client IP address. Although there are many free proxy services on the market, VPNs are superior to Proxy in many aspects and are reliable and safe. It is recommended to use a VPN to protect the privacy and safety of users.

Use all VPN functions completely risk-free. 30 days unconditional full refund policy.

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!

Proxy 与 VPN 区别是什么,如何选择?

Proxy( 代理服务器VPN都能保护用户身份,并且是访问受地理限制内容的绝佳工具,用户经常互换使用它们。但是,VPN保护用户隐私,而Proxy则没有,不支持上网的安全保障 。

什么是代理服务器

Proxy 也称为网路代理,或者代理服务器,在用户客户端和网站之间扮演中介的角色。用户通过代理伺服器浏览网站,能隐藏客户端真实IP 位址,所有流量都会透过代理伺服器进行路由。网站只记录代理伺服器的IP 位址,不会记录客户端的IP位址,以保护客户端的隐私。 但是, 代理服务器不加密流量。

Proxy 有快取功能。使用者浏览过的网页内容会储存在代理伺服器的缓存区中,当其他使用者存取相同的网页内容时,可以直接从缓存区取出资料,不必连到网站下载,这能有效节省网路频宽,提高网页的浏览速度。因此Proxy 通常被用来作为快取的节点。Proxy 也可以过滤网页内容,以限制使用者浏览特定的网站。

代理服务器主要有以下三种类型:

  • HTTP代理:主要用于存取网页,可过滤网页内容和快取网页。若在浏览器上设置HTTP代理伺服器,浏览器上所有的流量都会透过这个代理伺服器进行路由。
  • SOCKS代理:这类代理只是单纯的传递封包,除了存取网页之外,还能用于线上游戏、视讯串流、即时通讯及P2P等应用。SOCKS可分为SOCKS4和SOCKS5,其中SOCKS4只支援TCP协定,而SOCKS5支持TCP和UDP协定。SOCKS5支援身份验证,有较佳的安全性。它们可以处理各种流量,不过要比 HTTP 代理慢。但是它们通常具有更高的负载,所以通常比较受欢迎。
  • 透明代理(通透式代理):这类型的网路代理通常用于监控使用者的网路活动,并阻止使用者访问特定的网站,而使用者通常不会知道这类网路代理的存在。通透式代理常用于公司网管或家庭的网路控管(如监控孩子们上网行为)、餐厅或酒店用于对公共无线网路进行身份认证。公司或家庭也可以设置这种网路代理来节省带宽。
VPN加密流量,保护隐私;但Proxy无此功能
VPN加密流量,保护隐私;但Proxy无此功能

什么是VPN

VPN全称是virtual private network(中文译作虚拟私人网路,又称虚拟专用网),其功能是在网际网路上的两个端点之间建立通道,以存取另一端点内的网路资源,就像一个大局域网一样,可以将其视为虚拟的企业内部专线。

如果公司在各地设有办公室,可以使用VPN将将各地办公室的内网连接在一起。如同Proxy,VPN也是透过远端的伺服器进行路由,能隐藏真实IP或位置。

看看你现在的IP地址是什么

但是,VPN会加密互联网和设备之间的流量。

这意味着互联网服务提供商 (ISP) 无法再监控VPN用户的互联网活动,并收集相关数据。换句话说,外部监测无法知道用户无法通过网络做什么。加密还可以保护免受政府监视、网站跟踪以及黑客的侵害,VPN 能提供终极的在线隐私和安全。

另外,VPN 和proxy代理服务商都可以记录用户数据,例如用户 IP 地址、DNS 请求和其他详细信息。所以,不要使用此类服务商,如果他们的服务器遭到破坏,用户信息会泄露给广告商、黑客或相关政府部门。上网行为要想做到真正私密,那就使用具有严格无日志政策的VPN提供商。

下面这几个都是无日志政策的VPN:

  • NordVPN-首屈一指的严格无日志政策VPN服务商,服务器位于全球50多个地点。
  • ExpressVPN – 快速、可靠VPN服务,使用基于 RAM 的服务器,不保存用户数据。
  • Cyber​​Ghost – 用户友好的服务,具有安全、自有的 NoSpy 服务器和有保证的无日志政策。
  • Private Internet Access – 随附免费的广告拦截器,可确保在公共 WiFi 网络上的数据安全。
  • IPVanish – 高级安全功能,可帮助您绕过审查严格的国家/地区的互联网封锁。
  • PrivateVPN — 简单易用的VPN App,经济实惠。

VPN 和 Proxy 主要区别

这是两者之间的优缺点快速比较:

  • VPN 可以加密流量/信息传输,因此较为安全,而代理服务器则不会。 VPN 服务可保护不受 ISP 跟踪、政府监视和黑客的侵害;但是Proxy代理服务,则没有这个功能,所以不要使用Proxy来访问、处理敏感资讯信息。
  • VPN 在操作系统级别工作,并重新路由所有流量;而代理服务器在应用程序级别工作,并且仅重新路由特定应用程序或浏览器的流量;
  • VPN 可能比Proxy代理慢,因为它们需要加密数据。但是,可以通过多种方式提高连接和浏览速度;Proxy 只处理HTTP 请求,提供快取网页的功能,但是不加密数据,所以能提高网页浏览速度。(即VPN保护用户隐私,而Proxy不会)
  • VPN 通常是付费的(尽量不要使用免费的 VPN 服务,有各种限制并且挖掘用户数据),有不同国家的伺服器可以选择;而多数代理服务器是免费的(但是,与VPN一样,尽量不要使用免费服务,因为这些服务通常会限制流量、降低连线速度。)
  • VPN 连接更可靠,而代理服务器频繁地掉线。
  • VPN 通常用于解决外网

VPN 和 Proxy 常见问题

VPN 比代理更好吗?

是的,VPN 更好,因为它通过安全服务器路由并加密流量,来提供隐私和安全性。而代理只是通过中介服务器传递流量,但不一定提供任何额外的保护。此外,与代理不同的是,VPN 在操作系统级别工作以保护所有流量。

如果有 VPN,是否还需要代理服务器?

不需要。高级 VPN 服务与代理服务器执行相同的操作,可以使用代理来快速更改 IP。另外,并非所有 Proxy 代理服务器都是安全的,其中一些可能会收集用户的数据。

可以同时使用 VPN 和代理服务器吗 ?

VPN 和代理可以一起使用,但是需要一些配置。建议不要这样做,而且也完全没有必要。因为Proxy只会额外添加一个中间人,这会减慢连接速度,而没有明显的好处。在上网连接这方面,使用其中一个就可以了。

应该使用免费代理服务器(Proxy)还是免费 VPN?

免费代理和 VPN 服务可能会以牺牲用户的安全和隐私为代价。天下没有免费的午餐。开发人员必须以某种方式赚钱盈利,如果使用免费服务,他们可以在后台窥探数据,用广告软件轰炸,或限制可使用的数据量。

高级 VPN 对基础设施进行了大量投资,并为提供一流的加密、丰富的服务器基础、24/7 全天候客户支持、以及不断改进的服务。建议避免使用免费代理和免费 VPN,因为从长远来看,节省的那点小钱以后可能会花费更多。

结论

VPN 和Proxy 相似,都是透过远端伺服器将流量重新路由,并隐藏客户端IP 位址。尽管市面上有许多免费的Proxy 服务,但是VPN 在许多方面都优于Proxy,且可靠安全。建议使用VPN,以保护使用者的隐私和安全。

完全无风险地使用VPN 所有功能。30 天无条件全额退款政策。

发表评论

error: Content is protected !!