20 Bad Internet Behaviors and How to Fix them

It's impossible to describe all the bad things about the internet. Hackers, viruses, scams, and many other dangerous things pop up all the time online, so do your best to protect yourself. However, many internet users are negligent when it comes to cybersecurity, for example, when using free public Wi-Fi for online shopping. Downloading files from unreliable websites, and easy-to-guess passwords because "nobody is interested in hacking my account."

Break bad online habits (and replace them with good ones)

While there are countless ways to get yourself into trouble online, these 20 dangerous online habits are too common to ignore. So let's roll up our sleeves and fix them one by one.

1. Use the same password for everything

This is one of the worst digital habits. If a hacker somehow manages to get the single password you use every time you log in, they'll have easy access to all your online accounts. So don't be lazy and think about a strong, unique password every time you create a new account, especially for banking or shopping sites. You also get reliablepassword managerto help you remember all unique passwords.

bad internet memes 1

2. Ignore software updates

You, me, and most users find software updates annoying because they tend to pop up when you don't have time to deal with them. So what you usually do is hit the "Postpone" button, thinking you'll be back later. But you never will.

Keeping your antivirus/antimalware program up to date is critical to keeping your device safe from malicious threats. If you don't want to periodically check for updates, just let your app do this automatically.

bad internet memes 2

3. Download free software

There are various free software available online. You can also find sites that offer free downloads of paid software. Before downloading anything, you have to ask yourself "why is it free?"

Usually, the answer is that it either collects a lot of data about you, bombards you with ads, it's stolen (and therefore illegal), or it's actually disguisedmalicious software. Therefore, you should be very careful when downloading any kind of software. Read reviews, make sure the site is legit, and have your antivirus at the ready - just in case.

bad internet memes 3

4. Don’t use two-factor authentication

Although2FAMakes it extremely difficult for hackers to get into your private files and emails, yet too many people still don't use this awesome security feature.

Two-factor authentication adds an extra layer of security to your account and is available for many online services, including Gmail, Google Drive, Apple's iCloud, Twitter, and Facebook.

bad internet memes 4

5. No lock screen protection

Unless you take your phone anywhere and leave it unattended for even a second, all you need is some kind of lock screen protection: a pattern, a PIN, or a password.

If you don't lock your screen, anyone can install malware or spyware on your phone without you noticing. If possible, you should also enable remote location and wipe so that if someone taps your phone, you can remotely delete all your private information.

bad internet memes 5

6. No computer password

People store more private and sensitive information on their computers than anywhere else, but often do nothing to protect it. Don't make it easy for others to install spyware or steal your private information. Enter a password on your computer and lock it while you're away - even for a few minutes.

bad internet memes 6

7. No antivirus and antimalware software

While ignoring antivirus updates is a bad digital habit, no software can protect you from malicious threats or worse. So now is the perfect time to get solid malware protection. Good news if you already use NordVPN - ourThreat ProtectionFeatures keep your browsing safe and prevent you from accidentally downloading malware.

bad internet memes 7

8. Upload the file as-is to the cloud

You really need to store those precious gigabytes in your device's storage to sync files to the cloud. If you thought your data was safe sitting comfortably in the cloud...well, it's not. Most cloud companies can access your files on demand. Additionally, they are vulnerable to cyber-attacks and data breaches, which could put your sensitive data in the wrong hands. You can avoid this by encrypting your files before uploading them to the cloud to ensure your secrets are kept private no matter what. Easy-to-use data encryption tools such asNordLocker, will help.

bad internet memes 8

9. Click on a link in an unfamiliar email

This is a classic example of bad online behavior. Many hacks and malware succeed because people open emails they receive from random strangers. this is calledPhishing, it happens to more people than expected. The purpose of phishing emails is to lure users to visit fake websites. From there, hackers can easily install malware on victims' devices or steal their passwords, credit card details, and other private information.

So the lesson here is simple: don't click the link if you don't know or trust the source.

bad internet memes 9

10. Download attachments without thinking

And when we do - don't download any sketchy attachments either. If you don't know the sender, please don't click on anything in the email you receive. This is especially true if you're at work, as hackers can gain access to your company's sensitive files.

10 bad internet memes

11. Using HTTP Sites

If you're browsing the Internet without paying attention to a website's URL, then you should start doing so. The "HTTP" in the address prefix means your connection is not secure, which means snoopers can see the data you share with the site. This is especially dangerous for online payments and situations where personal information needs to be provided. To be on the safe side, only browse sites that use SSL-encrypted connections, indicated by HTTPS.

If for some reason you need to access an unprotected website, please enable it first NordVPN extension. It will protect your HTTP traffic with strong encryption.

bad internet memes 11

12. View your bank account on public Wi-Fi

This one is especially painful because we all love free Wi-Fi. However, public wireless networks often lack proper protection, leaving their users vulnerable to man-in-the-middle attacks and other nefarious ways for hackers and snoopers to gain access to your information.

While on public Wi-Fi, don't check any sensitive information, especially information related to work or money. Or better yet - get yourself a VPN to keep your communications secure even on public Wi-Fi.

Bad Internet Memes 12

13. Click on the virus warning pop-up

While visiting certain websites, you may face threatening pop-ups claiming to have found malware or viruses on your computer. Don't click on them as they tend to try to install malware or adware on your device.

Bad Internet Memes 13

14. Use "123456" as your password

While we all know we need stronger and better passwords to keep our data safe, the most common passwords in data breaches are "password" and "123456". Don't fall victim to cybercrime - get creative and come up with a good, unbreakable password to protect your data from prying eyes.

Bad Internet Memes 14

15. Download files from sketchy websites

It's not cool at all to download free pirated movies, games, and programs, and it's one of the easiest ways to get yourself malware. Be very careful on sites you don't trust, or even better - don't go there at all.

Bad Internet Memes 15

16. Weak Wi-Fi passwords

If you don't have a strong password on your home Wi-Fi, you may be vulnerable to hackers. If cybercriminals break into your network, they can snoop on you and collect your private information.

One of the best ways to create (and more importantly - remember) a password is to use a passphrase. You can use words from that song you like, or come up with an original phrase and shorten it using special symbols and numbers. For example: "I care about my privacy. My VPN provider is NordVPN" phrase can be translated into a very strong password "1camp.MVpiN"

Bad Internet Memes 16

17. Agree to all terms of software installation

It's a real pain to read the terms and conditions every time you want to install a new app, and no one will be surprised that you click "agree" without bothering to read what's written there. However, you should try to make reading at least some of these terms a new habit.

By agreeing to the terms without reading them, you may be allowing the software to do many things: collect information about you, listen to your conversations, install other software you don't need, etc.

Bad Internet Memes 16

18. Eliminate privacy concerns

If you feel like someone might be spying on you through your webcam, you're not paranoid. such as spying,webcam hackingAnd things like location tracking happen every day, but we're still not used to taking all the warnings seriously.

If you suspect someone is accessing your webcam without your consent, don't ignore your sixth sense. better read thisarticle, find out if your camera has been hacked, and take some steps to get out of this mess.

Bad Internet Memes 18

19. Think your smartphone is inherently secure

Since you probably carry your phone with you, it knows more about you than your diary or anyone else alive. So why don't you protect it?

With so much sensitive information stored on your phone, securing your mobile data should be the first thing you do when you get a new phone. Start by managing your security settings, adding lock screen protection andiPhoneorAndroidDownload the NordVPN app.

Bad Internet Memes 19

20. Don’t use a VPN when using public Wi-Fi

We've talked about the dangers of open Wi-Fi networks, so why are you still on that free hotspot without VPN protection?

20 bad internet memes

Since such hotspots can be easily hacked or spoofed by cybercriminals, it is imperative to protect your connection with a VPN. NordVPN Passstrong encryptionProtects your data and has a range of extra security features to protect you from hackers,annoying ads, malware and other security threats.

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!

20 种不良互联网行为及其解决方法

描述互联网的所有坏事是不可能的。黑客、病毒、诈骗和许多其他危险的东西在网上经常出现,要尽最大可能来保护自己。但是,许多互联网用户在网络安全方面疏忽大意,例如,在使用免费公共 Wi-Fi 进行网上购物。从不可靠的网站下载文件,以及易于猜测的密码,因为“没有人对入侵我的帐户感兴趣”。

打破不良的在线习惯(并用好的习惯取而代之)

虽然有无数种方法可以让自己在网上陷入困境,但这 20 种危险的上网习惯太常见了,不容忽视。所以让我们卷起袖子,一一修复。

1. 对所有内容使用相同的密码

这是最糟糕的数字习惯之一。如果黑客以某种方式设法获得了您每次登录时使用的单一密码,他们将轻松访问您的所有在线帐户。所以不要偷懒,每次创建新帐户时都要考虑一个强大的、唯一的密码,尤其是对于银行或购物网站。您还可以获得可靠的密码管理器来帮助您记住所有唯一密码。

糟糕的互联网模因 1

2.忽略软件更新

你、我和大多数用户都觉得软件更新很烦人,因为它们往往会在你没有时间处理它们的时候弹出。所以你通常做的就是点击“推迟”按钮,以为你稍后会回来。但你永远不会。

使防病毒/反恶意软件程序保持最新对于确保您的设备免受恶意威胁至关重要。如果您不想定期检查更新,只需让您的应用程序自动执行此操作。

糟糕的互联网模因 2

3. 下载免费软件

网上有各种免费软件。您还可以找到提供免费下载付费软件的网站。在下载任何内容之前,您必须问自己“为什么它是免费的?”

通常,答案是它要么收集大量关于您的数据,用广告轰炸您,它被盗(因此是非法的),或者它实际上是伪装的恶意软件。因此,下载任何类型的软件时都应该非常小心。阅读评论,确保网站合法,并准备好防病毒软件——以防万一。

糟糕的互联网模因 3

4.不使用双重身份验证

虽然2FA使黑客极难进入您的私人文件和电子邮件,但仍有太多人不使用这个令人敬畏的安全功能。

双重身份验证为您的帐户增加了一层额外的安全性,并且可用于许多在线服务,包括 Gmail、Google Drive、Apple 的 iCloud、Twitter 和 Facebook。

糟糕的互联网模因 4

5.没有锁屏保护

除非您将手机带到任何地方,即使一秒钟也不会无人看管,否则您只需使用某种锁屏保护:图案、PIN 码或密码。

如果您不锁定屏幕,任何人都可以在您不注意的情况下在您的手机上安装恶意软件或间谍软件。如果可能,您还应该启用远程定位和擦除功能,这样如果有人窃听您的手机,您就可以远程删除您的所有私人信息。

糟糕的互联网模因 5

6.没有电脑密码

人们在计算机上存储的隐私和敏感信息比其他任何地方都多,但通常不采取任何措施来保护它。不要让他人轻松安装间谍软件或窃取您的私人信息。在您的计算机上输入密码并在您离开时将其锁定——即使是几分钟。

糟糕的互联网模因 6

7.没有防病毒和反恶意软件

虽然忽略防病毒更新是一种不良的数字习惯,但没有任何软件可以保护您免受恶意威胁甚至更糟。因此,现在是获得可靠的恶意软件保护的最佳时机。如果您已经使用 NordVPN,那么好消息——我们的威胁防护功能可确保您的浏览安全并防止您意外下载恶意软件。

糟糕的互联网模因 7

8. 将文件原样上传到云端

您确实需要将这些宝贵的 GB 存储在设备的存储空间中,以便将文件同步到云端。如果您认为在云中舒适地坐着您的数据是安全的……那么,事实并非如此。大多数云公司可以根据需要访问您的文件。此外,它们很容易受到网络攻击和数据泄露,这可能会使您的敏感数据落入坏人之手。您可以通过在将文件上传到云之前加密文件来避免这种情况,以确保您的秘密无论如何保密。易于使用的数据加密工具,例如NordLocker,将有所帮助。

糟糕的互联网模因 8

9. 点击陌生邮件中的链接

这是不良在线行为的一个典型例子。许多黑客攻击和恶意软件之所以成功,是因为人们打开了他们从随机陌生人那里收到的电子邮件。这被称为网络钓鱼,它发生在比预期更多的人身上。网络钓鱼电子邮件的目的是引诱用户访问虚假网站。从那里,黑客可以轻松地在受害者的设备上安装恶意软件或窃取他们的密码、信用卡详细信息和其他私人信息。

所以这里的教训很简单:如果您不知道或不信任来源,请不要点击链接。

糟糕的互联网模因 9

10. 不假思索地下载附件

当我们这样做时——也不要下载任何粗略的附件。如果您不知道发件人,请不要点击您收到的电子邮件中的任何内容。如果您在工作中尤其如此,因为黑客可以访问您公司的敏感文件。

糟糕的互联网模因 10

11. 使用 HTTP 站点

如果您在浏览 Internet 时没有注意网站的 URL,那么您应该开始这样做。地址前缀中的“HTTP”表示您的连接不安全,这意味着窥探者可以看到您与该网站共享的数据。这对于在线支付和需要提供个人信息的情况尤其危险。为了安全起见,请仅浏览使用 SSL 加密连接的站点,由 HTTPS 指示。

如果由于某种原因您需要访问未受保护的网站,请先启用 NordVPN扩展。它将通过强大的加密保护您的 HTTP 流量。

糟糕的互联网模因 11

12. 在公共 Wi-Fi 上查看您的银行账户

这个特别痛苦,因为我们都喜欢免费的 Wi-Fi。然而,公共无线网络通常缺乏适当的保护,使其用户容易受到中间人攻击以及黑客和窥探者获取您信息的其他邪恶方式。

在公共 Wi-Fi 上时,不要检查任何敏感信息,尤其是与工作或金钱相关的信息。或者更好的是——让自己拥有一个 VPN,即使在公共 Wi-Fi 上也能保证你的通信安全。

糟糕的互联网模因 12

13.点击病毒警告弹窗

在访问某些网站时,您可能会面临声称在您的计算机上发现恶意软件或病毒的威胁性弹出窗口。不要点击它们,因为它们往往会尝试在您的设备上安装恶意软件或广告软件。

糟糕的网络迷因 13

14. 使用“123456”作为您的密码

虽然我们都知道我们需要更强大、更好的密码来保护我们的数据安全,但数据泄露中最常见的密码是“密码”和“123456”。不要成为网络犯罪的受害者——发挥创意并想出一个好的、不可破解的密码,以保护您的数据不被窥探。

糟糕的网络迷因 14

15. 从粗略的网站下载文件

下载免费的盗版电影、游戏和程序一点也不酷,这是让自己获得恶意软件的最简单方法之一。在您不信任的网站上要非常小心,甚至更好 – 根本不要去那里。

糟糕的网络迷因 15

16.弱Wi-Fi密码

如果您的家庭 Wi-Fi 没有强密码,您可能很容易受到黑客攻击。如果网络犯罪分子入侵您的网络,他们可以窥探您并收集您的私人信息。

创建(更重要的是——记住)密码的最佳方法之一是使用密码短语。你可以使用你喜欢的那首歌的词,或者想出一个原始的短语,然后使用特殊的符号和数字来缩短它。例如:“我关心我的隐私。我的 VPN 提供商是 NordVPN”短语可以转换为非常强的密码“1camp.MVpiN”

糟糕的网络迷因 16

17. 同意软件安装的所有条款

每次你想安装一个新的应用程序时阅读条款和条件真的很痛苦,没有人会惊讶你点击“同意”而不费心看那里写的内容。但是,您应该尝试使阅读这些术语的至少一部分成为一种新习惯。

通过在不阅读条款的情况下同意条款,您可能允许该软件做很多事情:收集有关您的信息、倾听您的对话、安装您不需要的其他软件等。

糟糕的网络迷因 16

18. 消除隐私问题

如果您感觉有人可能正在通过您的网络摄像头监视您,那么您并不是偏执狂。诸如窥探、网络摄像头黑客攻击和位置跟踪之类的事情每天都在发生,但我们仍然不习惯认真对待所有警告。

如果您怀疑有人在未经您同意的情况下访问您的网络摄像头,请不要忽视您的第六感。最好阅读这篇文章,了解您的相机是否被黑客入侵,并采取一些措施来摆脱这种混乱局面。

糟糕的互联网模因 18

19.认为你的智能手机本质上是安全的

由于您可能随身携带手机,它比您的日记或任何活着的人更了解您。那你为什么不保护它呢?

由于手机上存储着如此多的敏感信息,因此在获得新手机后,保护您的移动流量应该是您要做的第一件事。首先管理您的安全设置、添加锁屏保护并为您的iPhoneAndroid下载 NordVPN 应用程序。

糟糕的互联网模因 19

20. 使用公共 Wi-Fi 时不使用 VPN

我们已经讨论了开放 Wi-Fi 网络的危险,那么为什么你还在那个没有 VPN 保护的免费热点上呢?

糟糕的互联网模因 20

由于此类热点很容易被网络犯罪分子入侵或欺骗,因此必须使用 VPN 保护您的连接。NordVPN 通过强大的加密保护您的数据,并具有一系列额外的安全功能,可保护您免受黑客、烦人的广告、恶意软件和其他安全威胁的侵害。

发表评论