7 best handheld GPS trackers in 2021

If you use your smartphone to go through the bushes, you will definitely get lost in the woods in the end. The following best handheld GPS trackers can ensure you will always lose your way or stray into dangerous areas that are inaccessible.

In addition to tracking in the wild, GPS trackers also provide a variety of ways to get in touch with the outside world in emergency situations: SOS beacons and NOAA weather alerts.

Tips: Don’t start an adventure without anyone

How GPS technology works

Best handheld GPS tracker

If it is a long or dangerous journey, choose a durable GPS tracker, and the waterproof rating is higher than IPX5.

Best overall: Garmin GPSMAP 64st

Best overall GPS tracker: Garmin GPSMAP 64st

Garmin’s 64st is a first-class, rugged, and fully functional handheld GPS that performs well in all the right places. The 2.6-inch color screen is very smooth when zooming in and out, and navigation is easy. The well-known helical antenna uses GPS and GLONASS technology to enhance the signal in harsh environments. The 64st can quickly find the user's location and maintain the signal even in deep canyons. The battery life is 16 hours, and there is enough power to provide a full day of travel.

In terms of navigation, the 64th has 250,000 preloaded caches and 100,000 topographic maps, as well as a one-year subscription to BirdsEye satellite imagery. Adding more maps is also easy, thanks to 8GB of onboard memory, which provides more terrain and detailed navigation information. In addition, Garmin is also equipped with a three-axis tilt compensation electronic compass.

Garmin GPSMAP 64st review

Best budget: Garmin eTrex 30x

Best budget GPS tracker: Garmin eTrex 30x

Garmin eTrex 30x is an excellent handheld GPS portal with a 2.2-inch, 240 x 320 pixel display (although the screen is not large, it is still clearly visible in direct sunlight). eTrex 30x includes built-in basemaps with shadow embossments, as well as additional 3.7GB of on-board memory, and an expandable memory microSD slot for adding maps. To make navigation and location recognition easier, eTrex 30x supports a built-in three-axis tilt, which can be used as an electronic compass and barometric altimeter to track pressure changes and pinpoint altitude. Even in dense dense or deep canyons, GPS receivers and HotFix satellite predictions help maintain the signal.

As one of the first consumer-grade handheld GPS trackers to operate on both GPS and GLONASS satellites, eTrex 30x recognizes or "locks" to a location approximately 20% faster than standard GPS. With the help of free travel planning software, you can easily plan trips, the software can connect with other friends or family members who use Garmin GPS devices, and share plans and itineraries with Garmin Adventures. In addition to travel plans, eTrex can also store up to 200 routes and 2,000 waypoints, so you can easily plan your next trip before or during the journey. eTrex is powered by two AA batteries and can run for up to 25 hours on a single charge. The device has an IPX7 rating, is waterproof, and can be immersed in a depth of one meter for about 30 minutes.

Best splurge: Garmin Montana 680

Best splurge GPS tracker: Garmin Montana 680

Garmin Montana 680 is the best way to hold GPS for all kinds of activities. Montana can receive GPS and GLONASS networks at the same time, and has the best reception capabilities on today's handheld GPS devices. It weighs 10.2 ounces, is equipped with a 4-inch dual-directional and large touch screen display suitable for wearing gloves, and has a wide field of view. There is only one power button on the side, and all other functions are handled on the display, which can be operated with one finger.

In addition to an 8-megapixel camera, Garmin also pre-loaded more than 100,000 topographic maps, 250,000 global treasure hunts, and a one-year subscription to Birdseye satellite imagery. Add a three-axis compass, barometric altimeter, and automatic geotagging of photos. In addition to standard GPS tracking, you have many options. In addition, Garmin has added additional features such as a shareable travel plan, and the battery life is about 16 hours.

Best battery life: Garmin inReach Explorer +

Best battery life GPS tracker: Garmin inReach Explorer +

Garmin inReach Explorer+ and its 100-hour battery life make an excellent handheld GPS tracker. Unlike other traditional GPS devices, Explorer+ provides a range of functions beyond typical GPS navigation, including two-way satellite messaging and SOS tracking functions connected to search and rescue centers. In addition, Explorer+ also acts as a GPS tracker and provides a location transmission interval of 10 minutes to 4 hours. The disadvantage is: the display is slightly smaller, only 1.8 inches.

This sturdy tracker weighs only 7 ounces. In addition to the battery, the standard cost of GPS navigation is here, including creating and viewing routes, placing waypoints, and navigating using on-screen maps. In addition, it has detailed route information, such as the distance and direction to the target location. Garmin also provides Bluetooth pairing with smartphones for the Earthmate mobile app, which provides additional statistics, as well as unlimited topographic maps and US NOAA charts to download to the smartphone. DeLorme also includes a digital compass, barometric altimeter and accelerometer to provide additional navigation support.

Best versatility: Magellan eXplorist 310 Summit series

The best GPS tracker for versatility: Magellan eXplorist 310 Summit series

The 310 Summit series provides a variety of expanded maps and functions, and can be purchased exclusivelyHiking GPSThese should not be ignored at the time. This bundled topographic atlas provides detailed topography of various popular hiking mountains around the world.

In addition, there are detailed road works, water features, and even extremely remote village maps. The bright, sun-readable 2.2-inch display is comparable to many Garmins, even paperlessTreasure huntOption to extract maps for use and reference when not connected to the outside world, but it is not as user-friendly as Garmin.

Best showcase: Garmin Oregon 600t

Best showcase GPS tracker: Garmin Oregon 600t

The Oregon series are known for their screen quality, all featuring a full three-inch ultra-bright (such as readable in full sunlight) display, and the Garmin Oregon 600t is no exception. It also supports multi-touch, you can pinch and slide to find the exact position. The 600t is equipped with ANT and Bluetooth functions to provide some additional connectivity, and has a combination of topographic maps and location-based reconnaissance to ensure that the climb proceeds as planned.

The only difference from 650t is: 650t contains 8MP digital camera.

related articles:Have you used the best treasure hunting app?

Best for water conditions: Garmin eTrex 10 Global Handheld GPS

The best GPS tracker for water conditions: Garmin eTrex 10 Global Handheld GPS

The rugged Garmin eTrex 10 Worldwide Handheld GPS complies with the IPX7 waterproof standard and can be immersed in one meter of water for 30 minutes.

The Garmin eTrex 10 Worldwide handheld GPS weighs 9.1 ounces, measures 1.4 x 1.7 x 2.2 inches, and has a 2.2-inch monochrome display. It has 50 routes (the eTrex 30x version has 200 routes), and two AA batteries can provide 20 hours of battery life. Users can save more than 10,000 points and 200 saved tracks in its log system, allowing revisiting of old sites. Its GPS receiver supports WAAS, HotFix and GLONASS, can locate quickly and have reliable signals, and comes with a one-year warranty.

If you take a long hike in an unfamiliar area, thenGarmin GPSMAP 64st It is the best choice, it perfectly combines intuitive interface, excellent durability and long battery life. However, if you are traveling on water, or through a particularly humid climate, it is recommended to use IPX7 waterproof ratingGarmin eTrex 10.

5 best GPS trackers for hiking tours and cars

FAQ

How to choose GPS for hiking?

Before choosing a handheld GPS for hiking, several factors need to be considered.

The GPS used on the intestinal tract needs to be rugged and waterproof. It should be equipped with a battery that can be replaced when going out in the wild, and it should be suitable for outdoor use. To do this, a series of pre-loaded maps, barometer/altimeter, electronic compass, memory and total number of waypoints are required. If you are hiking with friends, you may also need features such as a two-way radio.

How to use handheld GPS for hiking?

The handheld GPS is different from the map on the smartphone. GPS is a more complex device that uses satellite data. To make it work, you must first passTrilateral measurementDetermine the location, select the coordinates of the destination, set it as the end point, and create waypoints along the way. For example, in addition to the destination, you need to be able to mark water sources, campsites, or parking locations.

What brand of handheld GPS is the best?

Garmin is one of the well-known brands in the game in terms of handheld GPS. It is a reputable company that provides durable and high-quality handheld GPS products.

Need to pay attention to what aspects of the handheld GPS tracker

Battery Life– Considering that you might rely on a handheld GPS tracker for navigation – and to help you find your way when you get lost – battery life is very important. The type of battery is also important; rechargeable batteries may be more convenient, but replaceable batteries mean that you can carry additional equipment on the go.

Map function– The map software seems to be standard, so it is convenient to add functions. For example, topographic maps, built-in treasure hunt information; if you spend a little more money, you can get a very good set of maps for your equipment.

weight– Bring as little things as possible during hiking to avoid overloading, and the same is true for handheld GPS. Most of the GPS devices mentioned above are very lightweight, but appropriate trade-offs must be made. For example, if the screen of a micro device is too small, you may not be able to see things in bright sunlight.

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!

2021 年 7 款最佳手持式 GPS 追踪器

如果使用智能手机穿过灌木丛,那么最终肯定会迷失在树林中。以下最好的手持式 GPS 追踪器,能确保永远迷失方向或误入人迹罕至的危险区域。

除了在野外跟踪外,GPS 追踪器还提供了多种在紧急情况下与外界取得联系的方法:SOS 信标和 NOAA 天气警报。

小贴士:不要在没有人的情况下开始冒险

GPS 技术工作原理

最佳手持式 GPS 追踪器

如果是漫长或危险的旅途,要选择耐用性的GPS跟踪器,而且,防水等级高于 IPX5。

最佳整体:Garmin GPSMAP 64st

最佳整体GPS 追踪器:Garmin GPSMAP 64st

Garmin 的 64st 是一流的、坚固耐用且功能齐全的手持式GPS,在所有合适的地方都表现出色。2.6 英寸彩色屏幕在放大和缩小时非常流畅,导航轻松。著名的螺旋天线采用 GPS 和 GLONASS 技术,可在恶劣环境中使信号增强。64st 可以快速找到使用者的位置,即使在深峡谷中也能保持信号。电池续航时间为 16 小时,有足够的电量提供一整天的旅行。

在导航方面,第 64 位拥有 250,000 个预加载缓存和 100,000 张地形图,以及对 BirdsEye 卫星图像的一年订阅。添加更多地图也很容易,这要归功于 8GB 的​​板载内存,可提供更多地形和详细的导航信息。此外,Garmin 还配备了一个三轴倾斜补偿电子罗盘。

Garmin GPSMAP 64st评测

最佳预算:Garmin eTrex 30x

最佳预算GPS 追踪器:Garmin eTrex 30x

Garmin eTrex 30x 是一款出色的手持 GPS 入口,具有 2.2 英寸、240 x 320 像素的显示屏(屏幕虽然不大,但在阳光直射下依然清晰可见)。eTrex 30x 包括带有阴影浮雕的内置底图,以及额外的 3.7GB 板载内存,和用于添加地图的可扩展内存 microSD 插槽。为了使导航和位置识别更容易,eTrex 30x 支持内置的三轴倾斜,可用作电子罗盘和气压高度计,以跟踪压力变化和精确定位高度。即使身处密布或深峡谷中,GPS 接收器和 HotFix 卫星预测有助于保持信号。

作为首批同时在 GPS 和 GLONASS 卫星上运行的消费级手持 GPS 跟踪器之一,eTrex 30x 识别或“锁定”位置的速度比标准 GPS 快约 20%。借助免费的旅行计划软件,可以轻而易举地计划旅行,该软件可与使用 Garmin GPS 设备的其他朋友或家人联系,与 Garmin Adventures 分享计划和行程。除了旅行计划之外,eTrex 还可以存储多达 200 条路线和 2,000 个航点,在旅途之前或期间,也可轻松地计划下一次旅行。eTrex 使用两节 AA 电池供电,一次充电可运行长达 25 小时。该设备具有 IPX7 等级,具有防水功能,可浸入一米深约 30 分钟。

最佳挥霍:Garmin Montana 680

最佳挥霍GPS 追踪器:Garmin Montana 680

Garmin Montana 680 是专为各种活动打造的手持 GPS 的最佳方式。Montana 能够同时接收 GPS 和 GLONASS 网络,具备当今手持 GPS 设备上最好的接收能力。它重 10.2 盎司,配备 4 英寸双方向和适合戴手套的大型触摸屏显示器,且视野广阔。侧面只有一个电源按钮,而其余功能全部在显示器上处理,一根手指就能操作。

除了一个 8 兆像素的相机外,Garmin 还预加载了超过 100,000 张地形图、250,000 个全球寻宝,以及对 Birdseye 卫星图像的一年订阅。添加三轴罗盘、气压高度计和照片的自动地理标记,除了标准的 GPS 跟踪之外,您还有很多选择。此外,Garmin 还添加了可分享的旅行计划等附加功能,电池续航时间约为 16 小时。

最佳电池寿命:Garmin inReach Explorer +

最佳电池寿命GPS 追踪器:Garmin inReach Explorer +

Garmin inReach Explorer+ 及其 100 小时的电池寿命造就了一款出色的手持式 GPS 追踪器。与其他传统 GPS 装置不同,Explorer+ 提供了一系列超出典型 GPS 导航的功能,包括连接到搜索和救援中心的双向卫星消息传递和 SOS 跟踪功能。此外,Explorer+ 还充当 GPS 跟踪器,并提供 10 分钟到 4 小时的位置传输间隔。缺点是:显示屏略小,只有1.8 英寸。

这款坚固的追踪器仅重 7 盎司。除了电池之外,GPS 导航的标准费用都在这里,包括创建和查看路线、放置航点以及使用屏幕地图导航。此外,具备路线详细信息,例如到目标位置的距离和方位。Garmin 还为 Earthmate 移动应用程序提供与智能手机的蓝牙配对,该app提供额外的统计数据,以及无限的地形图和美国 NOAA 图表下载到智能手机。DeLorme 还包括数字罗盘、气压高度计和加速度计,以提供额外的导航支持。

多功能性最佳:Magellan eXplorist 310 Summit 系列

多功能性最佳GPS 追踪器:Magellan eXplorist 310 Summit 系列

310 Summit 系列提供了各种扩展的地图和功能,购买专用徒步GPS时不应忽视这些。这个捆绑地形图集,提供了世界各地各种受欢迎的远足山脉的详细地形。

此外,还有详细的道路工程、水景,甚至是极其偏远的乡村地图。明亮、阳光下可读的 2.2 英寸显示屏与许多 Garmins 不相上下,甚至还有无纸寻宝选项,可在未连接到外部世界时提取地图以供使用和参考,但是用户友好性不如 Garmin 。

最佳展示:Garmin Oregon 600t

最佳展示GPS 追踪器:Garmin Oregon 600t

Oregon 系列以其屏幕质量而闻名,都具有全三英寸的超亮(如在完全阳光下可读)显示器,Garmin Oregon 600t 也不例外。它还支持多点触控,可以通过捏合和滑动来找到确切位置。600t 配备了 ANT 和蓝牙功能以提供一些额外的连接,并且有地形图与基于位置的侦察相结合,以确保攀登按计划进行。

与650t唯一区别是: 650t 中包含 8MP 数码相机。

相关文章:你使用过最好的寻宝 APP 吗?

最适合水况:Garmin eTrex 10 全球手持 GPS

最适合水况GPS 追踪器:Garmin eTrex 10 全球手持 GPS

坚固耐用的 Garmin eTrex 10 Worldwide Handheld GPS 符合 IPX7 防水标准,可浸入一米深的水中 30 分钟。

Garmin eTrex 10 Worldwide 手持式 GPS 重 9.1 盎司,尺寸为 1.4 x 1.7 x 2.2 英寸,带有 2.2 英寸单色显示屏。它有 50 条路线(eTrex 30x 版有 200 条路线),两节 AA 电池可提供 20 小时的电池续航时间。用户可以在其日志系统中保存超过 10,000 个点和 200 个已保存的轨迹,允许重新访问旧站点。它的 GPS 接收器支持 WAAS,并支持 HotFix 和 GLONASS,可以快速定位和信号可靠,提供一年保修。

如果在不熟悉的领域进行长时间的徒步旅行,那么Garmin GPSMAP 64st 是最佳选择,它将直观的界面、出色的耐用性和超长的电池寿命完美的结合在一起。但是,如果是水上旅行,或通过特别潮湿的气候,推荐使用 IPX7 防水等级的Garmin eTrex 10

5 款最适合远足旅游和汽车的GPS追踪器

常见问题

徒步旅行如何选择GPS?

徒步旅行在选择手持 GPS 之前,需要考虑几个因素。

在羊肠小道上使用的 GPS 需要坚固耐用且防水,应该配备可以在野外外出时更换的电池,并且具有适合户外使用的功能。为此,需要一系列预先加载的地图、气压计/高度计、电子罗盘以及内存和航路点总数。如果和朋友一起徒步旅行,还可能需要诸如双向收音机之类的功能。

如何使用手持 GPS 进行徒步旅行?

手持式 GPS 与智能手机上的地图不同。GPS 是一种更复杂的设备,它使用卫星数据。要使其正常工作,首先要通过三边测量确定位置,选择目的地的坐标,将其设置为终点,并沿途创建航点。例如,除了目的地之外,还要能标记水源、露营地或停车位置。

什么品牌的手持GPS最好?

Garmin 在手持 GPS 方面是游戏中的知名品牌之一,是一家信誉良好的公司,提供耐用且高质量的手持式 GPS产品。

需要关注手持式 GPS 追踪器的哪些方面

电池寿命– 考虑到可能会依赖手持 GPS 追踪器进行导航 – 以及在迷路时帮助找到方向 – 电池寿命非常重要。电池的类型也很重要;充电电池可能更方便,但可更换电池意味着可以在旅途中携带额外的设备。

地图功能– 地图软件看起来要标准,这样方便添加功能。如,地形图,内置的寻宝信息;如果多花一点钱,你可以为设备获得一套非常好的地图。

重量– 徒步旅行尽可能少带东西,以免负担过重,对于手持 GPS也是一样。上述GPS设备大多数都非常轻巧,但要做出适当的权衡。例如,微型设备的屏幕太小的话,可能无法在明亮的阳光下看到东西。

发表评论

error: Content is protected !!